STRONG CONNECTIONS

With our innovative brazing in the high-vacuum process, we combine a wide range of materials.

precise

Safe for people and the environment 

no oxidation

CONTACT

 

Wabawaska Eng. GmbH

Helmstrasse 1

CH-2562 Port


Switzerland


Phone: +41 44 844 28 88
Fax: +41 44 844 31 38
Info@wabawaska.ch

Copyright © 2017 Wabawaska – All rights reserved.

TECHNOLOGY

A successful reaction between the brazing metal and the diamond is evidenced by the black coloration of the contact surface and the loss of light reflection, which can be observed very clearly on translucent diamonds.

Wabawaska only carries out high-vacuum brazing in the lower range from 10-5 mbar, between 800 and 900°C (depending on the type of brazing metal). The high-vacuum process offers a high level of safety as regards oxidation and protection of the materials used. The brazing metals normally used are copper- and silver-based; in the forms that are used, they pose no hazard for people or the environment, i.e. in particular they do not contain any Zn, Cd, Pb or Cr.

The term 'brazing' describes a joining method in which two materials are bonded by means of a brazing alloy; the braze metal reacts chemically on both sides in this case. If one of the materials is a non-metal such as diamond, sapphire, ceramic or cubic boron nitride (CBN), the term 'active brazing' is used. 

During the molten liquid contact between an active brazing metal and diamond, chemical compounds of metals and carbon (known as carbides) are formed in a thin layer on the diamond's surface. Bonding with the brazing metal takes place via carbon atoms which are only partially extracted from the diamond lattice, i.e. they remain integrated in the diamond lattice with at least one of their four bonding electrons (valences) while the other valences are bonded to the active atoms in the brazing metal. Metals which are not very chemically active (such as precious metals) cannot form carbides of this sort; highly reactive metals are required for this purpose. The simplest brazing metals consist of a combination of precious metals alloyed with a small quantity of a chemically reactive element such as titanium or zircon.

Active Brazing 

Wabawaska uses the high-vacuum process to braze hard metals for tools and a variety of specialised applications. Our solutions are used in cases where the joining methods have to withstand high mechanical and/or thermal stresses: examples include the brazing of diamonds and other hard materials in precision tools, brazed diamond nozzles and ceramic feed-throughs for high-pressure applications.

Applications 

Application-related wear of a diamond or other hard materials in a tool is often due to a thermo-chemical reaction between its contact point and the work piece. Brazing with active brazing metal dramatically increases the heat transported from the contact point through the hard metal into the brazing metal and on into the substrate; this phenomenon is further enhanced by the use of vibration-reducing shaft materials.

 

Advances in brazing technology - especially more refined joining methods for brazing with greater dimensional accuracy - are opening up new application areas, which also include miniaturisation. Brazing metals with high resistance to corrosion also mean that new applications in the food and medical sectors are feasible.

Active brazing is in growing demand for instrument parts which are subject to high thermal and mechanical stress, such as power feed-throughs or diamond nozzles. Thermal stability extends above 500°C in these cases. 

GALLERIE

ABOUT US

 

The commissioned tool parts (i.e. diamonds and hardmetal or steal shafts) are assemblied manually and brazed using a high-vacuum process. Precision and meticulous care are our top priorities as we execute these tasks. We measure up to the requirements of many of our 
regular clients who supply tools to the Swiss watchmaking and other precision work sectors.

The technical advances in soldering technology make new applications possible in different areas. For PCD, CVD, MCD, CBN, Sapphire and Ruby.

CONSULTING SERVICE

We always strive to implement individual customer requirements precisely.

 

Are you unsure about the technical implementation?

 

We are your competent partner and will be pleased to advise you personally.

 
 
 

GALLERY

LIENS SOLIDES

Notre soudure innovante dans un processus de vide élevé, nous combinons différents matériaux.

précis

sûr pour l'homme et pour l'environnement

pas de Oxidation

Contact

 

Wabawaska Eng. GmbH

Helmstrasse 1

CH-2562 Port


Switzerland


Tel.: +41 44 844 28 88
Fax: +41 44 844 31 38
Info@wabawaska.ch

Copyright © 2017 Wabawaska – Tous droits réservés.

TECHNOLOGIE

On reconnaît une réaction réussie du métal d’apport avec le diamant à la coloration noire de la surface de contact et à la perte de la réflexion de lumière, ceci pouvant être observé nettement sur des diamants transparents.

Wabawaska effectue le brasage exclusivement sous vide poussé, dans la plage inférieure de 10-5 mbar, entre 800°C et 900°C (selon le type métal d’apport). Le processus de traitement en vide poussé offre une grande sécurité en ce qui concerne les oxydations et la protection des matériaux utilisés. En général, les métaux d'apport utilisés sont à base de cuivre et d'argent. Ils sont utilisés de manière inoffensive pour les êtres humains et l'environnement, car ils ne contiennent pas – en particulier – de Zn, de Cd, de Pb et de Cr.

Le brasage est une technique d’assemblage permettant de relier deux matériaux à l’aide d'un alliage d’apport qui réagit chimiquement des deux côtés. Lorsque l’un des matériaux n'est pas du métal (p. ex. diamant, saphir, céramique, nitrure cubique de bore), on parle de brasage actif.

Lorsque le métal d'apport actif en fusion entre en contact avec le diamant, une fine couche de composés chimiques – appelés carbures et résultant de la combinaison des métaux et du carbone – apparaît à la surface du diamant. La liaison au métal d’apport s’effectue à travers les atomes de carbone qui sont partiellement extraits du réseau du diamant, c'est-à-dire qui restent reliés au réseau du diamant avec au moins un des quatre électrons (valences), alors que les autres valences sont reliées à des atomes actifs du métal d’apport. Les métaux chimiquement peu actifs – tels que les métaux précieux – ne peuvent pas former de tels carbures ; il est donc nécessaire d’utiliser des métaux avides, c'est à dire avec une forte tendance à la réaction. Les métaux d’apport les plus simples se composent d’une combinaison de métaux précieux et d'une faible quantité d’un élément chimiquement réactif allié comme le titane, le zircon, etc.

Brasage Actif 

Utilisant un procédé sous vide poussé, Wabawaska brase des matériaux durs pour les outils et différentes applications spéciales. Nos solutions sont utilisées dans les cas où la méthode d’assemblage doit résister à des charges mécaniques et/ou thermiques élevées. On peut citer, à titre d’exemple, le brasage de diamants et autres matériaux durs dans des outils de précision, les buses en diamant brasées et les conduits en céramique dans le domaine à haute pression.

Applications et outils spécialisés

L'usure, due à l’utilisation, d’un diamant ou d’ un autre matérial dur contenu dans un outil est souvent la conséquence d'une réaction thermochimique de son point de contact avec la pièce à usiner. Le brasage avec le métal d’apport actif permet d’augmenter de manière radicale la dissipation de la chaleur du point de contact à travers le matériau dur vers le métal d’apport ; cet effet est en outre soutenu par l’utilisation de tiges en matières antivibratiles.

 

Les progrès réalisés dans la technologie de brasage, notamment les méthodes d’assemblage améliorées permettant un brasage avec une grande précision dimensionnelle, ouvrent également de nouveaux domaines d'application, dont la miniaturisation. Les métaux d’apport à haute résistance à la corrosion aussi permettent d’entrevoir de nouvelles applications dans le secteur médical et des produits alimentaires.

De plus en plus, le brasage actif est également demandé pour les éléments d’outils soumis à de hautes charges mécaniques et thermiques, comme les conduites de courant ou les buses en diamant. La résistance thermique est supérieure à 500°C. 

GALLERIE

A PROPOS

 

Les parts d´outils (p.ex. les diamants et les soutiens en acier ou métal dur) sont assemblées à main et brasées par un procédé sous vide poussé. En nos exécutions nous accordons la plus grande importance à la précision et à la minutie. Nous nous mesurons aux exigences de notre clientèle, qui fournit des outils de précision à l'industrie de l’horlogerie Suisse et d´autre traveaux de précision.

Les progrès technique nous permette des nouvelles application dans differente domains de la technologie de brasage. 
Pour PCD, CVD, MCD, CBN, Saphir et Rubis.

CONSEIL

Nous sommes toujours prêts à mettre en œuvre les exigences de chaque client avec précision.

 

Ils sont sur la mise en œuvre technique ne sais pas?

 

Nous sommes votre partenaire et vous conseiller personnellement.

 
 
 

GALERIE